frugal fashion shopper

Is age just another number?

On cruises and wearing what you want no matter what your age is!

on August 19, 2015

Hi everyone

I’m back from our cruise to the Faroe Islands, which was great although I’d forgotten how noisy these ships can be (in the cabin, that is) so it was lovely to get back to dry land and some silence!

Anyway, here are some pics and, at the end, some thoughts on wearing whatever you damn well please!

Cruise-01-web

Let’s start with the safety drill – here I am with my life jacket. I’m glad to say that this cruise line makes you find your lifeboat and stay there until the captain inspected us. We had a bossy member of crew who told us to behave and got us all standing in line!  Some grumbled at this – no, people, it’s good to have someone firmly in charge and know where to go, if ever…..

Cruise-04-web

Our first formal night and here is a selfie to see whether I’d put my makeup on OK.  Tricia, I was wearing my Lookfabulousforever base!  And below is a pic of the dress, which is only taken out and worn on cruises; it’s a glorious Monsoon dress made of silk devore that I bought three years ago for around £12 .

Cruise-05-webOur ports of call were Torshaven, which was a lovely, very Danish, little town where I went straight to Gudren & Gudren (where the sweater worn by Sara Lund was knitted). I tried on lots of jumpers but none of them were quite right, although I nearly bought one until I found out it was knitted in Peru. Not what I wanted so in the end bought an amazing scarf and hat, which I’ll feature later in the year. We also went to the Shetlands and Orkneys but both days were grey as were the surroundings.

The best of the cruise days was spent in Edinburgh where we experienced the Edinburgh Festival in all its glory. Very buzzy and whacky – walked up the Royal Mile with dozens and dozens of acts all going at once, and people handing you flyers saying ‘please, please come to my gig, for free’. We went to one in a dive – umm, edgy! Then paid to go to two acts – one was Henning Wehn, a very funny German comedian who has some brilliant observations on us Brits,  He’s been on the panel game QI.  And then we saw John Lloyd who invented QI – my word, what a mind that man has!

OK, while walking round the streets of Edinburgh I noticed that there was a kind of a ‘look’. It was a very short, frothy kilt worn by lots of the lovely students who were obviously aged anything between, say, 19 and 21.

Right, I thought – I’m 69. But, hey, I want one of those! So reader, I bought one.Cruise-09-web I bought one, in a charity shop, of course, for £3. And here it is.

And I’m linking up with a campaign #iwillwearwhatilike run by Catherine Summers who writes the blog Not Dressed As Lamb. I like a list or two but Catherine found a list of things we shouldn’t be wearing after 30! Thirty! Ye gods! Yes, seriously, whatever your age You. Wear. What. You. Want. And that includes wearing short skirts – go on, I dare you!

Cruise-13-web

Thanks Catherine (and Judith Boyd btw) for drawing our attention to this ageist nonsense.

That’s all for now

Penny, the frugalfashionshopper

12 responses to “On cruises and wearing what you want no matter what your age is!

  1. I was in Edinburgh too and one thing that struck me was that as an older person I didn’t feel at all out of place as I had feared – it is quite an expensive treat after all so the audiences are not all students by a long way. I would have loved to see Henning Wehn, I think he is wonderful! But I recommend Joseph Morpurgo – still very young and a real genius.

    • Hi Sarah, Yes Edinburgh was wonderful and although we were there for just about two days it really wasn’t enough time, and I think I will try to come up again for a whole week. And as for the two acts we got into, as soon as we docked we shot off to the centre of town and into the Box Office and found lots we’d listed were sold out, then Henning Wehn, ‘yes, tickets were available for that’, as was John Lloyd, and both were excellent. Will look out for Morpurgo next year!

      And yes, Edinburgh was full of all ages and types – felt really at home.

  2. Love the kilt ant you look good in a life jacket too!
    What a shame you had grey days for the Shetlands and Orkneys. It does sound like a very different and interesting cruise..

    • Hi & thank you, Maddy! Yes, I think you’d need to explore those islands at leisure – not the rushed look we took. But it’s Edinburgh for me – to be honest it’s the shops and the buzz that gets me every time! So at some point will aim to go for a week there, preferably during the Festival

  3. janjpa says:

    Hi Penny, always love your “age” attitude towards clothes, and the way you wear your them. Thanks for the blog and the ideas.

  4. You look great in that skirt and lots of fun. Totally agree about wearing what you enjoy.

  5. Joy Lattin says:

    If I had your figure I would have bought one as well, especially for our equivalent of $6.00!!! My husband and I were on holidays recently and came across a Salvation Army Store and I wanted to go in and have a look at the clothes…..you should have seen his face!! He was horrified and said you never know who has worn them……You have inspired me to look at different alternatives now we are retired but I guess I will have to leave my investigations till I am well enough to start driving again. Love reading your blog and seeing your purchases. Joy Lattin, Unanderra NSW Australia

  6. You look great in the Kilt! Of course you should wear it! You’ve got great gams, and even if you didn’t, life’s too short to stifle our creativity!!

Leave a Reply

