frugal fashion shopper

Is age just another number?

On packing a capsule wardrobe and a bargain buy from the Orkneys!

on August 25, 2015

Someone asked me what was in my capsule wardrobe. It started with the fact that I took far too many clothes to last year’s cruise to the Baltics; it was for 14 days and I packed loads of casual clothes, plus a different dress for practically every one of those 14 nights! I was forever thinking what should I wear, which was quite angsty, and not very relaxing. Next holiday, I said to myself, would be different.

Here’s what I did:

  1. For day-wear I kept to blue & green. So it was one pair of (charity shop) navy jeans and one (new) green pair of jeans, each with two co-ordinating tops.  Here’s one of the blue ensemble. The trousers are Gap and bought from a charity shop last year for £4.00, plus my charity shop Per Una blouse, which I bought in 2012 and only wear on cruises!blue-blouse-web
  1. I took a black pair of trousers (new) for Edinburgh, along with one long-sleeved and one short-sleeved black top. That worked well as it was hot when we arrived and I wore the short-sleeved top plus my red sandals.  The next day it rained and was chillier, so I wore the long-sleeved top plus cagoule, plus boots, plus umbrella, as the rain was heavy and continuous. Poor Royal Mile Fringe performers they carried on regardless!
  1. I thought we had to cater for all weathers: so I took my warm weather (charity shop) parka for the Scottish Isles, plus two warm cardigans.  That was too much, and I should have thought, ‘yes, this is the north, but it is August.’  What I needed was rain-wear plus thinner layers.
  1. For evening I took 4 dresses (all from charity shops); 2 formal and 2 informal, and as we were out all evening in Edinburgh for two nights, and another night I had a headache (rather prone to those) I didn’t repeat wear any of my evening gear.
  1. I took 4 pairs of shoes and a pair of boots (that I wore onto the ship, so not in my suitcase): 2 were for evening, including my scarlet sandals, 2 were for day, and the boots for rain. I think I could have left one pair of day shoes behind.

On-cruise-webAll that and don’t forget the wash gear and make-up, plus 14 pairs of knickers, as you don’t want to spend time washing your smalls on a shorter holiday! But it was the last minute, ‘ah, perhaps I need an extra top and an extra cardi?’ No I didn’t, I never wore them!

Here is my blue cruise blouse worn as we sweep past the idyllic landscape of the Thames! As you can see it was a bit windy.

green-top-webAnd in this pic is a Per Una top bought in the Orkney Islands for £3.00 in one of their local charity shops, plus skinny jeans bought new from Primark at £11.00, worn with my charity shop boots. Yes, wherever I go I look for a charity shop!

That’s all for now

With love

Penny, the frugalfashionshopper

P.S. Hello and a very big welcome to new followers; thank you so much for signing up.  And if you’re just dropping by why not pop your email into the side-bar widget and get my weekly blog post on a regular basis – thank you again!

8 responses to “On packing a capsule wardrobe and a bargain buy from the Orkneys!

  1. You look really nice, I like both the tops – you make a great model!

  2. Judy says:

    Lovely pics, I agree with maddyathome – great model! What did you decide to take in the jewellery line?

  3. You look fabulous. Great choices. You have a great purchasing eye. It must come from lots of practice!

    • Thank you so much, Christine. Yes, re: the ‘eye’. Well, I always look in any charity shop, for that matter, and funnily enough, seldom buy until that is I pounce on a ‘find’! The thing is I know what I want, that’s the key to any clothes shopping, I think.

  4. pollymacleod says:

    Sorry I’m late again, Love your posts, you look great, particularly in your frothy kilt, it looks so good on you, well done, I envy your confidence. Some good tips in your capsule wardrobe.

    • Thank you so much, Polly. I love that kilt and it’s not that I’m confident, many times I’m far from it, but it’s kind of being a bit daring and enjoying that feeling! I think also doing the blog (over two years now) has changed me and I’m quite militant that older women should not fade away, but be as stylish as they can be without breaking the bank! And essentially we should have fun with fashion or a ‘look’ and try it out – and never say never, whatever your age! x

Leave a Reply

