frugal fashion shopper

Is age just another number?

Dressing for a typical English holiday – the necessity of covering the ears!

on September 16, 2015

I had written something for the blog to post while away on a week’s holiday in Suffolk, but some of the photos we’ve taken are so reminiscent of the holidays I experienced as a child I felt I had to share them with you.

Southwold Suffolk-1

Yes, who remembers the 50s and the British tradition of no matter what the weather you went to the beach?

I have 3 distinct memories of those holidays. One is of my parents sitting in the rain on their deck chairs in their plastic macs. And in my mother’s case, with the addition of the plastic head covering tied over her head that she’d pulled out of her handbag, which had been folded concertina style to a small oblong. We would be playing alongside them building sand castles wearing the ubiquitous hand-knitted cardi (which scratched the skin) over our cossies and under our child-sized plastic macs.

Southwold Suffolk-2

The second memory is that when it rains and you run into the sea, it feels warm in contrast to the colder drops of the rain. Or was it the other way round? All I remember is that there was a contrast between the two mediums of wetness.

The third thing I remember is a noise. The now iconic and gaudily painted beach implements – the bucket and spade – bought every year (because no matter how you said you loved them they were never brought home) were made of metal. And there was a noise you made, when going back to the hotel tired after being outside for so many hours, as you pulled the spade along the pavement. If I close my eyes I can hear that gravelly scraping noise now, plus the usual refrain from my mother, ‘Pick it up of the pavement, dear’.

This week in Suffolk has coincided with a ‘low’ over England, so it’s been grey, wet and very, very windy. And did I bring a hat with me from the many I possess? No, I didn’t!

Southwold Suffolk-4So here I am with a scarf tied round my head in what might be seen as retro fashion. No, seriously it was so windy on this pier that the scarf is essential to both stop me feeling that my ears are being blasted off the side of my head, and getting that particular numb/cold pain you get in your ears in the wind. But, do you know, I love holidays like this!

Southwold Suffolk-3Apart from the Primark skinny jeans everything else is from charity shops, natch!

Here’s hoping the weather is better where you are!

With love

Penny, the frugalfashionshopper

9 responses to “Dressing for a typical English holiday – the necessity of covering the ears!

  1. Margaret Nyand says:

    Lovely photos and description of your holiday, and it is great you enjoyed it despite rain. Your jeans are very nice on you. I have been thinking that now I am in my 70s, the next thing I should add to my wardrobe as soon as possible is a couple of pairs of really nice fitting jeans. They are versatile..and worn with a fitted leather jacket (and even one of those two hats you prompted me to buy) should even take me through the tutoring I do at the local College campus where I used to teach…(Yes, those of us who lost our pension benefits in the 2008 crash….are finding ways to add a little to our reduced incomes.) That is why your blog has been so welcome and helpful to me. And how am I doing? Your advice has been invaluable. I have found a few ways to cut back on expense…and clothing has been one of them. As well, my granddaughter who is in college also enjoys coming with me to find some items she would otherwise not be able to afford…such as a long black skirt last week, with some nice detailing on it…this will last me throughout my time at college, she said..and I volunteered to have it dry cleaned and the hem shortened for her so that it will be ankle length. Your influence is going places, Penny.Thanks so much.

  2. Paula says:

    Great memories!
    Australia in the 50’s was hot, hot and very hot.
    We camped at the beach all day with umbrellas and eskys full of food and drink. No sunscreen!
    I am currently in Italy and the weather is beautiful!

    • Hi Paula, yes, what a contrast, Australia and the UK! And when it got hot here because it wasn’t always grey and wet (!) I never used sunscreen either. Consequently I have had 4 small skin things removed lately and am vigilant in watching my skin for more. Glad to hear about the weather in Italy! Sounds lovely.

  3. Maddy1953 says:

    I love a windy sea-side on a grey day! Where exactly is that pier? It’s very nice with the buildings on top.

  4. utahartist says:

    Thanks Penny for the reminder of those holidays… mine were the addition of staying in a caravan park or Pontins! Oh the memories!

Leave a Reply

